Original Television Soundtrack
Music by Mark Ayres


Originally released on Silva Screen Records in 1993, in this new version Ghost Light is freshly re-mastered from the original analogue stereo master tapes with consecutive cues combined into longer tracks. Also included are additional tracks previously omitted and the complete initial “demo” version of the music for Part One. The album presents the score in story order.

Though the score features small themes and motifs, the musical narrative relies on "sounds" rather than "themes". The composer juxtaposes the tender sound of strings, harp, clarinet with native drums and unearthly sounds of pipes, distorted gong, organ and choir. Ghost Light was the final production of the series' original 26-year run.

A television composer best known for scoring the original series of Dr Who, Mark Ayres’s work encompasses the era of Sylvester McCoy as the Seventh Doctor and includes scores for The Greatest Show in the Galaxy, Ghost Light, and The Curse of Fenric. Ayres was also part of BBC’s unofficial Doctor Who Restoration Team and has done much of audio restoration from the later VHS Doctor Who releases.


Original Television Soundtrack
Doctor Who:
Ghost Light

Music by
Mark Ayres




1. Doctor Who (Opening Theme)
by Ron Grainer
2. The Madhouse
3. Redvers, I Presume?
4. Uncharted Territory
5. Heart of the Interior
6. Gwendoline
7. The Fang of a Cave Bear
8. Enter Josiah
9. Indoor Lightning
10. Nimrod Observed
11. Time to Emerge
12. Burnt Toast
13. Ace's Adventures Underground
14. Where Is Mamma?
15. Loss of Control
16. The Way to the Zoo
17. The Hungry Inspector
18. The Memory Teller
19. Lighting the Touchpaper
20. Homo Victorianus Ineptus
21. Out of the Shadows
22. Light Enlightened
23. Tropic of Perivale
24. Tricks of the Light
25. Judgement In Stone
26. Requiem
27. Passing Thoughts
28. Doctor Who (Closing Theme)
by Ron Grainer
29. The Madhouse (Alternative)
30. Redvers, I Presume? (Alternative)
31. Uncharted Territory (Alternative)
32. Heart of the Interior (Alternative)
33. Gwendoline (Alternative)
34. The Fang of a Cave Bear (Alternative)
35. Enter Josiah (Alternative)
36. Indoor Lightning (Alternative)
37. Nimrod Observed (Alternative)
38. Time to Emerge (Alternative)
39. Burnt Toast (Alternative)
40. Ace's Adventures Underground (Alternative)


To order this CD using
PayPal go to

DOCTOR WHO: GHOST LIGHT - Original Soundtrack by Mark Ayres SILCD1372$15.95