Original Motion
Picture Soundtrack 
Music by Hugo Friedhofer


Click image for larger version

Delicious treat for Hugo Friedhofer fans! World premiere release of original soundtrack from Die Sister, Die!. At tail end of legendary career, Friedhofer scored this independent 1976 Randall Hood horror tale (aka The Companion) starring Jack Ging, Edith Atwater, Kent Smith, tightly written by Theodore Strauss (credited as Tony Sawyer), classily shot by Michael Lonzo. Friedhofer created complex, often frightening score, recorded it in London with members of National Philharmonic Orchestra under orchestrator Carl Brandt. Complete multi-track stereo session masters have been long lost - until now. Surviving in pristine condition after more than four decades, we can all finally enjoy the rewards, intact, presented in dynamic stereo! Though often erroneously credited as a 1972 project, film in fact was shot in 1975, scored in September of 1976 at The Music Centre with veteran John Richards as engineer. Academy Award-winning composer (The Best Years Of Our Lives in 1946) rarely made foray into horror movies but took assignment at personal request of director Hood and cinematographer Lonzo. This gem shows he had natural instinct for genre just the same. Highlights abound but two intense back-to-back cues ("Visitors Of The Mind", "First Nell, Then Father") are worthy of additional spotlight. Friedhofer moves between suspense, terror in both lengthy sequences with equal aplomb. "Knife For Jethro", "Rooftop Struggle" bring excitement into the shudders. Cool extra: For early scene in cocktail bar, Friedhofer invited his dear friend Jeri Southern to write source cue for piano. Southern, an accomplished torch-singer, jazz pianist, teacher and composer (1940's through 1960's) wrote terrific source piece for London session pianist, then opted to record it herself back here in her home literally with her own equipment. Incredibly, the master for that cue also survived. A rare treat for her own fans! Highly personalized notes by cameraman Lonzo plus graphic design by Joe Sikoryak wrap up this chilling package. Sad footnotes: Director Hood died during post-production in August 1976 at the young age of 48, just before Friedhofer had finished his score. The news shocked the composer, who was slated to record his music literally just a few days later. Friedhofer continued a period of self doubt, depression, then sadly passed away himself in May of 1981. This CD presents a rare opportunity to hear the work of a master composer nearing the end of a magnificent career. Carl Brandt conducts members of National Philharmonic Orchestra. Intrada Special Collection CD available while quantities and interest remain!

ISC 282

Original Motion
Picture Soundtrack

Die Sister Die
and The Companions

Music by
Hugo Friedhofer


01. Main Title (4:55)
02. Find A Companion (1:29)
03. A Taste Of Ivory (Jeri Southern) (1:55)
04. Esther's Arrival (2:53)
05. Locked Cupboard (1:19)
06. The Word Is Murder (4:29)
07. Visitors Of The Mind (7:01)
08. First Nell, Then Father (6:24)
09. Amanda Is Gone (2:49)
10. The Confessional (2:25)
11. The Ring (2:08)
12. Knife For Jethro (4:43)
13. Rooftop Struggle (3:27)
14. Corpse In The Cellar (2:16)
15. End Title (2:05)



To order this CD using
PayPal go to

DIE, SISTER DIE / THE COMPANION - Original Soundtracks by ISC-282$20.95